Australian Grand Prix videos

  • Leclerc grabs dramatic Monaco Pole!

  • Leclerc leads Ferrari charge in Monaco

  • Ricciardo CRASHES OUT in Monaco Practice

  • HUGE crash in F2 Monaco qualifying!

  • Jack Doohan edging closer to F1 dream

  • Waters holds off Van Gisbergen in R15



The first Australian Grand Prix to officially be part of the Formula 1 World Championship was held in 1985, although the event dates all the way back to 1928 when it was known as the “100 Miles Road Race”.

The 1985 race was won by Finland’s Keke Rosberg at the Adelaide Street Circuit, where the Australian Grand Prix was held until 1995 before shifting to Albert Park in Melbourne. F1 luminaries Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna both won twice in Adelaide.

Since shifting to Melbourne the Australian Grand Prix has been dominated by German and British drivers, who have won the event 17 times including nine out of the last 10. Ferrari legend Michael Schumacher won four times from 2000 to 2004, while Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, Nico Rosberg and Kimi Raikkonen have all stood atop the podium multiple times at Albert Park.

Past 10 winners of The Australian Grand Prix

2018Sebastian VettelFerrari
2017Sebastian VettelFerrari
2016Nico RosbergMercedes
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2014Nico RosbergMercedes
2013Kimi RaikkonenLotus-Renault
2012Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes
2011Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault
2010Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes
2009Jenson ButtonBrawn-Mercedes
2008Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes